Identity

Date of birth: 12/10/1994
Right-handed

Equipment

Rubber: Target Pro GT X51
Blade: Hinotec Off

Awards

2014

Third place at the senior French doubles championships

2008

Third place at the French Cadet Championships
Cadet European Team Champion

2007

Vice champion of France minimal in singles and doubles
Cadet double French champion
Vice European Junior Champion

2006

Vice champion of France minimal in singles and doubles

2005

Vice champion of France Benjamin
Junior French champion in doubles

The “Cornilleau Team” Interview

How did you get into ping ?

My mother, who played for the French team, was a coach at the club in Luneville, a club my grandmother was also a member of. I played there with her when I small. I was four years old and immediately liked it, quickly getting into a routine of training every evening.

And then what path did your career take ?

I was spotted by the France Détection group (French talent spotting group) who I stayed with between the age of 8 to 11 and then it was one thing after another: CREPS (Centre for Sports Resources, Expertise and Performance) in Nancy, Pôle France training cluster in Nantes and INSEP (National Institute of Sport, Expertise and Performance). At that point, I suffered a severe injury to both knees and could no longer play. I lost my place at INSEP and was forced to go back to Nancy, where I returned to CREPS and college. Back to square one.

How did you get yourself back on track ?

During that year, I had the opportunity to really think about what I wanted to do. I took my A’ levels and signed up for the DUT (a two-year qualification taken at a technical college) but I missed playing ping and I couldn’t get my head around doing anything else. I then took a coaching diploma and became a coach / pro player in Metz. That worked well and I switched club for Mont-de-Marsan, which was geared up for the rise in pro B at the time. Subsequently though, it was in Nice that I really became aware that I had the necessary qualities for the top level, thanks notably to my then coach Olivier Maero, who is still my coach now and believed in me. From that point, I gave myself 3 or 4 years to get my career off the ground. So, that’s where I’m at workwise.

Do you remember a particularly striking moment in your career ?

Thinking back, there was a very powerful moment that I experienced with fellow players of my generation. It was in 2008, we won the European team cadet championships. That same day, the juniors also secured victory. I still remember the Marseillaise ringing out that day and how we celebrated our title all together. There were other great moments too like my bronze medal at the French senior doubles championships, but that remained the most striking moment, perhaps because I was young.

How did you join Team Cornilleau ?

At the French championships in 2019, I was sponsored by a specialist retailer from Luxembourg, who got me playing in Cornilleau. That enabled me to meet the brand’s teams, who were attending the championships. After that, we got chatting and it seemed like a natural progression to join Team Cornilleau. In terms of equipment, I had the chance to test different woods and rubbers before finding the winning combination for me.

Dorian Nicolle france championnat 2020

Do you have any hobbies outside ping?

I may have some very good friends in table tennis, like Grégoire Jean for example, who’s also a member of the team, but I often need to take a break by hooking up with people who don’t have anything to do with the domain. That gives me a chance to discuss other things. I also follow general sport at lot and tennis, basketball and F1 in particular. I go to the cinema and to gigs too. For some time, I’ve been listening to a fair bit of classical music.

What type of player are you?

I love playing 1.5m or even two metres away from the table. I put away a lot of balls and even though I know how to finish off points, my game is aimed at wearing my rivals out. That’s sure to be down to my nature. I’m a fighter and I give my all in what I do.

What is your favourite shot?

I don’t have a shot I play all the time, but in Pro B one day, I returned a shot with my left hand, which won me the point. That feat did the rounds in ping circles and people regularly talk to me about it.

On a personal level, what has ping given you?

Ping has enabled me to meet a lot of people and travel to different continents: China, Africa and eastern Europe. Table tennis has also taught me about sacrifice, working hard to get what you want. I like winning, I need to win. And to win, you have to work very hard, so I’ve had to push the envelope and continue to do so on a daily basis.

What do you think you’ll do after your career as a player?

One thing for sure is that I’ll stay in the sports domain, maybe ping, but sport for definite. Maybe I’ll become a coach, as that’s another string to my bow, and why not travel and work in another country, discover another setting. And I think I’ll play ping as long as my body allows, till I can no longer walk.

Identité

Date de naissance : 12/10/1994
Droitier

Matériel

Revêtement : Target Pro GT X51
Bois : Hinotec Off

Palmarès

2014

Troisième place aux championnats de France seniors en double

2008

Troisième place aux championnats de France cadet
Champion d’Europe cadet par équipe

2007

Vice champion de France minimes en simple et en double
Champion de France cadet en double
Vice Champion d’Europe cadet

2006

Vice champion de France minimes en simple et en double

2005

Vice champion de France benjamin
Champion de France benjamin en double

L’interview Team Cornilleau

Comment t’es-tu mis au ping ?

Ma mère, qui a joué en équipe de France jeune était entraîneur au club de Luneville, club où était aussi ma grand-mère. J’y jouais avec elle quand j’étais petit. J’avais quatre ans et tout de suite ça m’a plu et je me suis rapidement mis à m’entraîner tous les soirs.

Quel a été ton parcours ensuite ?

J’ai été détecté par le groupe France détection avec lequel je suis resté entre 8 et 11 ans et ensuite ça s’enchaîne :  CREPS de Nancy, pôle France de Nantes et INSEP. Là, je me blesse sévèrement aux deux genoux et ne peux plus jouer. Je perds ma place à l’INSEP et me vois contraint de revenir à Nancy, où je retourne au CREPS et au lycée. Retour à la case départ.

Comment t’es-tu relancé ?

Pendant cette année, j’ai eu l’opportunité de beaucoup réfléchir sur ce que je voulais faire. Je passe alors mon bac et je m’inscris en DUT mais jouer au ping me manque et je ne peux pas me faire l’idée de faire autre chose. Je passe alors un diplôme d’entraîneur et deviens entraîneur / joueur pro à Metz. Là, ça fonctionne bien et je change de club pour Mont-de-Marsan qui visait à l’époque la montée en pro B. Mais c’est à Nice ensuite que je prends vraiment conscience que j’ai les qualités nécessaires pour le haut niveau, notamment grâce à mon coach de l’époque qui est d’ailleurs toujours mon coach à l’heure actuelle, Olivier Maero, qui croyait en moi. A partir de là, je me suis donné 3, 4 ans pour faire décoller ma carrière. Alors j’y travaille.

Te souviens-tu d’un moment particulièrement marquant dans ta carrière ?

En y repensant, il y a un moment très fort qu’on a vécu avec d’autres joueurs de ma génération. C’était en 2008, nous gagnons les championnats d’Europe cadet par équipe. Le même jour, les juniors gagnent également. Je me souviens encore de la Marseillaise qui résonnait ce jour-là et comment on a fêté notre titre tous ensemble. Il y a eu d’autres beaux moments comme ma médaille de bronze aux championnats de France seniors en double mais ça reste le moment le plus marquant, peut-être aussi parce que j’étais jeune.

Comment as-tu intégré le team Cornilleau ?

Aux championnats de France 2019, j’étais sponsorisé par un revendeur spécialisé luxembourgeois qui me faisait jouer en Cornilleau. Cela m’a amené à rencontrer les équipes de la marque qui étaient venues assister aux championnats. Puis, nous échangeons et j’intègre le team Cornilleau assez naturellement. Côté matériel, j’ai eu l’opportunité de tester différents bois et revêtements avant de trouver la combinaison qui me convient.

Dorian Nicolle france championnat 2020

As-tu des hobbies en dehors du ping ?

J’ai beau avoir de très bons amis dans le tennis de table, comme Grégoire Jean par exemple qui fait aussi partie du team, j’ai souvent besoin de me changer les idées en fréquentant des gens qui n’ont rien à voir avec le milieu. Ça me permet de parler d’autres choses. Sinon, je suis beaucoup le sport en général, le tennis, le basket et la F1 en particulier. Je sors aussi au cinéma et voir des concerts. Depuis quelques temps, j’écoute pas mal de musique classique.

Quel type de joueur es-tu ?

J’aime bien jouer à 1,5 m voire deux mètres de la table. Je remets beaucoup de balles et même si je sais finir les points, j’ai un jeu qui vise à user mes adversaires. Ça vient certainement de ma nature, je suis un combattant, je mets beaucoup de cœur dans ce que je fais.

Quel est ton coup préféré ?

Je n’ai pas un coup que je fais tout le temps, mais un jour en Pro B j’ai rentré une main gauche qui m’a fait gagner le point. Ça a fait un peu le tour dans le milieu et on m’en parle régulièrement.

Que t’a apporté le ping d’un point de vue personnel ?

Le ping m’a permis de rencontrer beaucoup de monde et de voyager sur différents continents : en Chine, en Afrique, en Europe de l’Est. Le tennis de table m’a appris le sens du sacrifice également, à travailler dur pour obtenir ce qu’on veut. J’aime gagner, j’ai besoin de gagner. Et pour gagner il faut travailler très dur, alors il a fallu et il faut encore quotidiennement me dépasser.

Que penses-tu faire après ta carrière ?

Une chose est sûre, je resterai dans le milieu du sport, du ping peut-être, mais du sport ça c’est certain. Peut-être entraîner, puisque j’ai cette corde à mon arc et pourquoi pas également voyager et exercer dans un autre pays, découvrir un autre cadre. Et je pense que je jouerai au ping tant que mon corps me le permettra, jusqu’à ce que je ne puisse plus marcher.